Spring cleaning for CAFOD

Angela Valenzuela a parishioner from St Benedict’s Swansea tells us how she made a unique contribution to CAFOD this Lent

“On a sunny day towards the end of February, when I was wondering what I should do for Lent, CAFOD’s Clean water appeal with the fund matching logo arrived on my breakfast table.  Now, I love a bargain, so I couldn’t resist that fund matching!  As a pensioner, I can no longer make the sort of donation that would rake in a good contribution from the government, and although tenners add up, I indulged in a little lateral thinking where the clean water somehow merged with spring growth in the garden and spring cleaning both in the house and in the heart.  I decided to put a notice in the Church newsletter to offer 1-2 hours of housework or gardening in exchange for a donation to CAFOD’s water appeal.  If asked, I suggested a £10 donation for an hour’s work, although one of my donors was much more generous.

I was quite successful in my fund raising efforts;  I had 5 takers, three of whom gave me a donation and excused me the work!  I had two takers for housework and one for gardening.  I was asked back several times to one of the houses and the garden.  Spring was a good time to do spring cleaning indoors and out!
These generous people enabled me to raise £340 for CAFOD’s fund matched clean water appeal this Lent.  With gift aid their donations are worth about another £85.  With the fund matching this means a grand total of £765, more than I had ever imagined, and enough, I understand, to provide a pump to provide water for a community.  What will that mean to a village in Africa?  I would like to thank the generous people who made this venture a success.

Incidentally, there was more than donations and housework and gardening going on;  several hugs, comfort and companionship also slipped into the mix.

Thank you for helping to inspire me to help people there and here.   I enjoyed myself.”

Thank you Angela for such a wonderful story, as well as a reminder that with a little bit of lateral thinking we can all make a difference in our own way.

This entry was posted in News by Kieran O'Brien. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kieran O'Brien

As CAFOD Diocesan Manager for South Wales I cover the two dioceses of Cardiff and Menevia. I promote and support fundraising, education, campaigning and other CAFOD related initiatives in the area, encouraging as many people as possible to support our work around the world.

Leave a Reply

