Meet our newest volunteer Eleanor!

Eleanor blogHere I am at the newest part of my Step into the Gap experience; today is my second day working with CAFOD South Wales, and I look forward to spending the remainder of my year based here.

My name is Eleanor Margetts and I am currently volunteering for CAFOD on their Step into the Gap gap year programme which combines an experience of working with CAFOD both in the UK and overseas. I am 21 years old, and am doing this programme between my Undergraduate degree and my Master’s degree, which I will begin in September 2014 in Human Rights and Development at Swansea University. As a part of my year, I have been on a placement working with Chaplaincy at Cardinal Newman Catholic School in Brighton & Hove, as well as having the opportunity to spend a month in Sierra Leone to see some of the amazing work that CAFOD is helping to make happen out there.

I’ve now returned from my overseas visit and am back home in South Wales. I grew up in Bridgend and am delighted to be able to spend some time working in this area. I found out about CAFOD whilst at school in Archbishop McGrath Catholic Comprehensive, so it’s great to come full circle and hopefully inspire young people in the same way I was. I hope to spend some time, over the next few months, helping to motivate young people to get involved with CAFOD and begin to think of themselves as global citizens. I look to do this by sharing the stories and experiences of my trip to Sierra Leone earlier this year, and to show exactly how people’s money and support is going to help some of the world’s most vulnerable people.

I’m very excited to continue my work with CAFOD in this way and I look forward to the opportunities to be able to share my stories with young people across South Wales.

Leave a Reply

