Olivia tells us about her experience at #GGC14

OLIVIA-reflection

Last week we hosted our first ever All Wales Sixth Form Conference and welcomed over 70 students to spend the day unlocking their leadership potential. We had a great time working together in workshops to learn about CAFOD and how to inspire others! Olivia, a sixth former from St Albans RC High School in Pontypool, tells us about her experience of the day…

“When I was told about the conference, I decided to attend as my understanding of what CAFOD do was fairly limited so I was keen to learn more. My friends and I were not really sure what to expect when we decided to go but we are so glad we did! I loved meeting so many new people whom I’ve kept in contact with as well as learning a lot from them. I also felt I learnt a lot from the engaging workshops which I thoroughly enjoyed. I learnt how to inspire others, how to make a good presentation as well as developing important leadership skills.

I was slightly apprehensive upon realising I was in a group with people whom I’d never met but everyone immediately started talking and within a few minutes we were chatting like we’d known each other for ages!

My school do a lot of fundraising for CAFOD over the academic year but after gaining a deeper understanding of what CAFOD do, I definitely want to help more! I’d like to thank all those involved for their hard work that made the day so successful, we didn’t want to leave! If you are given the chance to go to this conference then I strongly urge you to attend, it truly made me realise that it’s the small things like sharing a photo on twitter or a simple assembly in front of your year that can really make a big difference!”

 

Find out more about what we got up to here:

Great Generation Sixth Form Conference Resources

A great day for young leadership in Wales! (Blog Post)

2 thoughts on “Olivia tells us about her experience at #GGC14

  1. Pingback: Our future leaders tell us what they thought of #GGC14 | CAFOD South Wales

  2. Pingback: Our future leaders tell us what they thought of #GGC14 | CAFOD South Wales

Leave a Reply

