Cardiff Half Marathon

head_Eleanor_half_marathon Former CAFOD gap year intern, Eleanor Margetts, takes on the challenge to run the CAFOD half-marathon in October. Find out what drives her to take on this enormous challenge and to raise life-changing funds for some of the world’s poor.

So it’s been almost two months since I finished my gap year journey with CAFOD. As you can see in my video I had an absolutely amazing time experiencing what CAFOD does both in the UK and abroad in Sierra Leone. It was the opportunity to witness the benefits of CAFOD’s work at a direct and personal level in West Africa that has inspired me to challenge myself to run the Cardiff Half Marathon to raise awareness and funds for what I think is an incredible charity!

Now, I’m not much of a runner…I’ve run my fair share of leisurely 5Ks, but to run a half marathon is a huge challenge for me. I know this, especially now I’m in the midst of my training, and I know that it hasn’t been without its difficulties. I know that if I didn’t have the first-hand experience of CAFOD’s work, and the knowledge that my efforts will pay off in a life-changing way for people, then I’d find it VERY difficult to motivate myself to run. But that said, I’m confident that I will complete the race, and hope to raise a good amount of money and awareness in the process.

I’m really excited to run the half marathon, and wear my CAFOD shirt with pride! To know that, already, I’m changing the lives of people across the world (and getting a little fitter in the process!) is very humbling. I can’t wait to join hundreds of others on the day, many raising money for a cause that’s personally important to them, and to continue to make a difference to the lives of those I met in Sierra Leone, and across the rest of the world.

Please help me in my efforts and sponsor me with whatever amount you can https://www.justgiving.com/Eleanor-Margetts/

THANK YOU!

Eleanor Margetts, former gap year intern with CAFOD.Eleanor_in_running_top_small

Leave a Reply

