Introducing our Summer Intern!

image1

Hello!! My name is Madeline Page and I am interning for CAFOD South Wales for the summer.

It is day 2 of my internship and I have already been involved in promotion for tomorrow’s Climate Change rally, preparation for Pope Francis’ encyclical and preparing for our Great Generation Sixth Form Conference next Wednesday.

My role here is varied including updating social media, advertising events and upcoming campaigns, fundraising and organising events as well as helping to engage further with young people across South Wales. As a young Catholic I admire the work that CAFOD do and am excited to be a part of the South Wales team this summer, living out my faith.

I am 20 years old and have just finished my second year at Cardiff University studying Philosophy. I have always enjoyed volunteering and doing charity work and now, as I look towards a career, working for a NGO is very appealing to me. I think the work that many not-for-profit organisations do is fantastic and really makes a difference to our brothers and sisters throughout the world. Through my internship with CAFOD I hope to gain a greater insight, and more importantly experience, in working with organisations like CAFOD. I love working with people, in particular young people and those with disabilities, and go on pilgrimage to Lourdes every summer with the Ampleforth Hospitalité (and boarded at Ampleforth College for 4 years before uni). Therefore, in CAFOD I look forward to working with the volunteers and in particular, supporting and engaging further with young people across South Wales.

I love traveling and visiting new places and am lucky enough to have lived around the world including Washington DC, Buenos Aires and now visit my parents in Brunei. I am also a keen netball player (although am prone to injury and seem to spend more time in surgery than on the court!)

Finally, I would also like to utilise social media more to showcase the fantastic work that our volunteers throughout South Wales are doing. Therefore, if you are organising any events or fundraising activities please get in touch (and even include some photos for me to share!).

Please contact me on mpage@cafod.org.uk

Don’t forget to make sure you like us on facebook, follow us on twitter and Instagram.

I’m very excited to work with CAFOD and I look forward to the many and varied opportunities that will arise throughout the next few months.

One thought on “Introducing our Summer Intern!

Leave a Reply

