Allaine’s Work Experience!

FullSizeRender

Hello! My name is Allaine Jorolan and I’m currently on work experience with CAFOD.  I’m excited to be working with everyone here in the Cardiff office!

Throughout the week, I’ll be involved in various tasks such as preparation for Bastille Day tomorrow, doing a video to continue to raise the profile of Bastille Day and the issue of climate change and website improvement. Likewise, I’ve been given the opportunity to assist on developing a volunteer programme that can be offered to Sixth Form students.

I’m currently a Sixth Form student in Archbishop McGrath Catholic High School, and studying English Literature, Geography and Philosophy.  I’m an avid reader and I try to read as much as I can, my current favourite book is ‘Perfume: A Story of a Murderer’ by Peter Süskind. I enjoy sports such as badminton and basketball, though watching them, not participating!

I was interested in working with CAFOD after attending their Great Generation Conference in our school on June 24th (click here to read what I thought about the day). Our school has worked with CAFOD before and I had a general idea of what they do. I was inspired by what they wanted to do for our environment, and I took that into action. I aspire to work in environmental aid in the future, therefore I deeply believe in the care of our environment, and that climate change has many consequences that one day may directly affect us.

During my time here, I hope to gain the confidence to be able to talk to people, especially my peers, about the issues of climate change and what we can do. Equally, working with CAFOD will give me an insight in to working with similar organisations.

One thought on “Allaine’s Work Experience!

  1. Pingback: Our young leader takes action on climate change! | CAFOD South Wales Blog

Leave a Reply

