Elouise celebrates completing the Cardiff Half Marathon

cardiff half

Finished! 

On Easter Saturday, our media officer Elouise Hobbs, 21, completed the Cardiff World Half Marathon and raised over £150 for the Lent Appeal. We caught up with her to ask her about the race.

“When I crossed the finish line, I was so happy. I finished in my target time, 2:10:04 and was so proud that I had carried on even though there were moments when I felt like giving up. Before the race, I got to see Mo Farah going to warm up and that made me really excited for the race. People had travelled from all over the world to run in Cardiff!

“When the race started, everyone was really enthusiastic and then it started raining. Running across the barrage was really tough, we were caught in a hailstorm and there was no protection from the elements. The supporters along the race were fantastic, they really helped the runners to keep going and were really motivating, giving out high fives and sweets!

“The race was the hardest physical challenge I have ever done in my life, but I am so proud that I completed it and managed to raise money for the Lent Appeal.

“There was definitely an abundance of water on the race. It was raining and hailing for much of the time and there were many stations giving out water to keep people hydrated. All the water that surrounded me on the race felt really poignant; when I was running, I just kept thinking about how lucky I am to have access to clean water all of the time, which I often take it for granted.”

So far, the Lent appeal has already raised more than £3.5 million for the Lent appeal, which will be matched by the UK Government’s Department for International Development. This will help people have access to clean and safe water in Uganda, Zimbabwe and The Republic of Congo.

You can still donate the Lent Appeal until May 9.

One thought on “Elouise celebrates completing the Cardiff Half Marathon

Leave a Reply

