We welcome Emmeline, our summer intern

IMG_9797

We welcome Emmeline to the office, who will work over the summer period as a volunteer intern in the Cardiff office. Read what she has to say here:

“Hello! My name is Emmeline Reynish, I am a twenty two year old student. I recently graduated from the University of Birmingham with a degree in International Relations with Spanish and have just moved back to Wales. I live in Barry, and so there’s nothing that I enjoy more than heading to the beach and enjoying the great Welsh weather… well, when it manages to not rain! I have also just begun an internship at CAFOD working with the South Wales team.CAFOD has always been a charity I’m familiar with due to the work that they do with my parish, St. Helen’s, Barry, therefore when I was considering volunteering I knew I wanted it to be involved with their great work and get more ‘hands on’ experience into what they do.  

After meeting with Kieran in the Cardiff office I felt immediately that it was going to be a worthwhile and rewarding experience, and I felt that I was really being given the opportunity to contribute to CAFOD’s work. Kieran asked exactly what type of work I was looking for and together we created a plan of the different projects I could work on, I had no idea that CAFOD had so much going on! Engaging with schools, fundraising in parishes, lobbying the government and MPs there really is something for everyone to get involved with.

In September I am going to begin a Master’s degree at Cardiff University studying International Planning and Development. I am sure the opportunity to intern with an overseas organisation such as CAFOD will give me a new insight and appreciation into the practicalities of working within international development which will greatly help my studies. Work experience is so important in today’s competitive jobs market, and I am really grateful to CAFOD South Wales for allowing me to expand my knowledge and expertise. It’s not all serious though, I also really enjoy the friendly atmosphere in the Cardiff office and chatting to both Kieran and Therese and other volunteers, the amazing view of Cardiff Castle isn’t too shabby either!

So far I have really enjoyed working in the CAFOD office and learning more about how they carry out their mission both in the UK and overseas. I am looking forward to continuing my CAFOD experience and working on new projects tackling global issues such as climate change and fair trade. I hope to be able to learn more transferable skills I can take forward into my career after University, particularly surrounding government policy and sustainable urban development.”

If you are interested in volunteering for CAFOD and getting hands on experience working in a development charity, then please do get in contact with us. We are especially on the look out for anyone who is interested in media, social media, database  support and coordinating our work in parishes and schools.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

